After only a year it became apparent that they would need some serious real estate to accomodate the growing collections. In 1871 the City of New York granted the Met the land between East Park Drive, Fifth Ave and the 79th and 86th Street Transverse Roads in Central Park. The building was completed in 1874 and designed by architects Calvert Vaux and Jacob Wrey Mould. Twenty times its original size, the Met encompasses 2,000,000 square feet of floor space. Their permanent collection now houses more than two million works with nineteen curatorial departments.