The Cyclone was preceded in Coney Island by the 1925 Thunderbolt, and the 1926 Tornado, which were both very successful. With $100,000 to invest, Jack and Irving Rosenthal hired Vernan Keenan to design a new roller-coaster on the land they had purchased at Surf Avenue and West 10th Street. The location had previously been the location where the Switchback Railway had been.
Construction was supervised by Harry C. Baker, and was completed by National Bridge Company, along with Cross, Austin, & Ireland. The final costs are estimated to have been between $146,000 and $176,000.
The Cyclone was landmarked by New York City on July 12, 1988, listed on the New York State Register of Historic Place on June 31, 1991, and finally placed on the National Register on June 26, 1991.
The Cyclone has been copied a number of times, at least four times at Six Flags parks (though two have been removed), and there are at least three replicas overseas.
At the time of it's opening, the Cyclone cost a mere 25¢, a far cry from the current $8.00 it costs to ride it.