The house, known as the Samuel Osgood House, or alternatively as the Walter Franklin House. was Built in 1770 by Walter Franklin. At the time that Washington moved in, the house was owned by Samuel Osgood, who had married Franklin's widow, Maria Bowne Franklin.
Washington, his family, and his staff occupied the house until February 23, 1890. Washington then moved to the larger Alexander Macomb House at 39-41 Broadway. Washington stayed there until August 30, 1890, when the US Capital was moved to Philadelphia pursuant to the Residence Act, which was passed in July of 1890.
The house, was demolished in 1856. It had stood near where the base of the Brooklyn Bridge is now.