On this day on June 29th, 1928, the Outerbridge Crossing and Goethals Bridge in Staten Island, New York are both opened. The Outerbridge Crossing is named for Eugenis Harvery Outerbridge the first chairman of the Port Authority. The Outerbridge Crossing connects drivers from Staten Island to Perth Amboy, New Jersey. The Goethals Bridge is named for is named for Major General George Washington Goethals and connects to Elizabeth, New Jersey.
Leave a Reply.
On this day in Old New York
A Daily Feature where we focus on a historical event related to NYC that occurred on this day.
For Available Dates please click Here